Life, Love, and Passports

Food glorious food

Now let me start off by saying I’m not entirely sure if this is a fact or just my imagination.I think after the Americans the English shop for food and booze like there is no tomorrow. Thanks in part I guess because of ridiculous reductions and buy one get one free deals.

I have always loved for as long as I can remember peering into people’s food baskets.I’m not exactly sure why this is so. I am always amazed at the amount of bread some people buy. Surely there is only so much bread one person can need unless of course they do shopping for their neighbourhood!

It has taken me an eternity to figure out some of the food available here.Let me just place on record how awful I think the red meat is here that includes the British, Irish and New Zealand variety. I have managed to get by but often find myself longing for good South African groceries.

If I popped into a South African store my basket would look like this: Jennings fudge, boerewors, a variety of biscuits and rusks, crisps and fizzy drinks!  That’s not too much for a girl to ask for.

Leave a Reply

