Life, Love, and Passports

Deja who?

Now we are all very guilty of this particular illness. As a nurse you were always required to know your patients names. So I’ve always been very good at remembering people’s names. Of recent times though my capacity for names has diminished.

Whether it’s at the church I attend or the local playgroup. I’ve been attending the playgroup for some time now so I just nod and smile. It’s so irritating it should be compulsory for people to wear name tags wherever they go.

The other thing that totally throws me off is the different accents. So asking the person to repeat their name fifty times, and then resorting to asking for spelling. Embarrassed you now realise their name is Katherine!

When I meet people for the first time I try to match them with someone I know quite well. Then I meet them again and can’t for the life of me remember who I’ve associated them with.

Now I’ve noticed as far as I go and people remembering my name. They opt to call me by any of my three daughters names followed by mum. Wouldn’t it just be easier to remember my name. Then again it does give them plenty of options.

Welcome to the tower of Babel!

Leave a Reply

