Life, Love, and Passports

Magic moments

Undoubtedly the saddest moments of my time in England are when special moments are being celebrated by my family back home in South Africa.

Today my nephew celebrated his first birthday and I still can’t believe that I missed it. I was the one who always helped with the planning and did as much as I could to help where I could.
I know that life moves on but this is not one of the ways I imagined it would move on.

I enjoy my new life and all the amazing people I’ve met who I now call friends. Hanging around with my mates and their children does provide a wonderful social network. No matter how good the times are that we share they are just not family.

People ask me what I miss about my family. I miss just hanging around at my parents home, eating my moms delicious food, watching football and of course the willing baby-sitters! Oh man I miss just arriving for meals and not forgetting traditional Sunday afternoon tea.

I guess we choose our paths and sometimes these paths take us far from our families. I’m glad for all of the treasured moments and beautiful memories we now share!

Leave a Reply

