Life, Love, and Passports

Pushing an elephant up the stairs

It was over six years ago that I stood pregnant in the falling rain enjoying the 2005 REM tour of South Africa. It was a case of love and devotion to my husband that I was willing to suffer. That live concert more than made up for the inconveniences I was enduring. Magic!

I can’t remember when it was that I first heard the music of REM but I know for a fact that my husbands fascination with the band and his impressive cd collection had something to do with it. It wasn’t long before I had my favourite songs.

Today after thirty-one years of making amazing music the band has decided to throw in the towel. I suppose it’s better to call it a day when people are expecting more from you than listening to calls to end your music. Hopefully they have thought very carefully about their decision because come backs are so overrated.

So as the news of the split sinks in I guess it’s a case of everybody hurts! I have no doubt their music will be around for a very long time.

2 responses

  1. hanu

    it’s the end of the world as we know it, but i feel fine

    September 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    • Great band! No doubt you will miss them.

      September 23, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Leave a Reply

