Life, Love, and Passports

King of the road

I’ve just started driving again after a long period of enjoying public transport. After exchanging my beloved South African licence for a British one I must admit I was rather fearful about taking on the notorious traffic circle. Now unless you’ve driven in England you have no idea how daunting that prospect can be. It seems to be a case of biggest and fastest are the king and queen of the circle. Being average finds you stranded at the yield sign.

In the process of exchanging my licence I started having nightmares of being called to redo my test. Thankfully that did not happen because quite honestly I’m not sure that I would’ve been prepared for that. Those memories of getting started are still too fresh in my mind. I was full of crazy zeal and no skill. I remember driving a car with power steering for the first time and knocking down a pedestrian sign. Needless to say that did not go down too well with my dad. He showed me no mercy and I had to pay for the damage to his car.

I do consider myself to be quite a seasoned driver but when I think back to the early days of clutch control, inclines and parallel parking I still tend to get quite panicky. However, the freedom of owning the road still outweighs that terrible fear of being caught between a truck and a bus. I’m eternally grateful to my husband who drove me to the department of transport all those years ago and refused to leave until I’d signed up. Of course it annoyed me terribly back then but what a difference the final outcome has made to my life. Bring on the daunting traffic circle!

2 responses

  1. Roxanne

    Lol… The ring road is def not something many people can take on, even for a seasoned driver. But living in the uk means one thing… When in Rome…! Glad 2 hear ur overcoming the fear of the Brit traffic! Ring Road, watch out 4 the south africans 🙂

    October 13, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    • I’m in the swing of things!

      October 14, 2011 at 10:57 am

Leave a Reply

