Life, Love, and Passports

Wacky Wednesday

It has been a strangely difficult day mainly because my extended family are celebrating my mothers sixtieth birthday in South Africa and the reality of not being there dawned on me. Although her actual birthday was over a week ago – today is the celebration of a very good life. I know you can’t have the best of both worlds but just this once I would’ve loved that opportunity.

So from the moment I woke up I knew whatever my day held it would be served with a side of self-pity. Part of the pity party would require shelving the Christmas carols and indulging my poor mood with some less than joyful Adele music. Fortunately I changed my mind about Adele and pulled myself together as best I could after realising my life could be a whole lot worse.

The day is now drawing to a close and I have survived. If you’ve lived or live miles away from home and have missed births, weddings, funerals, graduations and other life changing events you will no doubt know the anguish I’ve felt. If home is where the heart is I guess I really do live in two places!

2 responses

  1. Alicia

    U were sorely missed-it was surreal. Definately thought that u would walk through the doors at any minute. I guess it was one of those days when the bigger picture just did not make sense. Really need 2 invest in that time travel machine!

    December 22, 2011 at 4:52 am

    • It was one of the hardest days but I survived. I’m working day and night to sort the machine out.

      December 29, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

