Life, Love, and Passports

Old habits really do die hard!

I would love to think that everybody has a habit which if it doesn’t drive them crazy certainly drives the people close to them to the edge of insanity. I have two such habits one which I’m totally aware of and the other is an involuntary habit!
The first habit is my amazing ability to crush hard candy with my teeth. Today I did what comes naturally to me and attempted to crush a mint imperial immediately after placing it in my mouth and what followed was absolute shock and horror. My very fragile tooth which was painstakingly worked on less than a fortnight ago literally crumbled with the sweet. Right now I’m absolutely petrified of returning to the dentist especially since her final instructions included looking after the tooth and trying to eat on the opposite side. This is not looking good. Believe me it doesn’t look good I’ve inspected the site with my very own dental mirror!

Sadly all of my habits include my teeth. The second is slightly more embarrassing and I’m happy for the opportunity to come clean. For the second time in my adult life I was informed by a dentist that I grind my teeth while I sleep. I guess it could be worse I could grind them in the mall. So after going through the various stages of being told you have a chronic problem I accepted the help offered. I am now the proud owner of a retainer for night use and am hoping to put this grinding to rest.

Here’s hoping for fewer teething problems in 2012!

2 responses

  1. barbra

    Just started reading ur blogs today! Well done I’ve enjoyed reading them! U r talented!

    January 10, 2012 at 3:01 am

    • Thank you Barbra. Much appreciated.

      January 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Leave a Reply

