Life, Love, and Passports

Fads and fancies

This evening my two older daughters decided that they no longer eat cottage pie (mince and mash). They haven’t given me a solid reason apart from the childish response “we just don’t like it anymore” This presents a bit of a problem for me because I’ve adopted a four-day eating plan and the weekend signals the beginning of an eating out frenzy!

I thought back to my childhood and unless you were allergic to a particular type of food you basically ate whatever you were given. As an adult I now have a simple rule unless I’ve tried it once I don’t just refuse. However, there are food memories forever etched in my memory like mealie rice (much like risotto), corned beef and pork pies I have no desire to eat any of them ever again.

So I’ve decided to cut my girls some slack and perhaps they’ll rekindle their taste for one of my signature dishes! Perhaps now is a good time to introduce them to another of my favourite childhood classics macaroni and cheese. All I can do is try and hope for the best!

2 responses

  1. Bunny Eats Design

    I guess if you’re happy to cater to their new dislikes, you can explore some other old favourites or some new things completely.

    When I was a kid, if we didn’t like something, we ate it anyway or ate the other stuff on offer. Often when fussy eaters are involved with cooking, the meal is satisfying and appreciated. Is it possible to get your children to cook or at help in the kitchen?

    January 9, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    • I must confess that cooking is more a task than a joy so involving them in the kitchen would just prolong my agony!
      The last thing I want is to enable fussy eaters so I might have to reconsider my rigid menu for them and perhaps give them a break from what seemed to be their favourite meals.

      January 10, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

