Life, Love, and Passports

Proud and pushy moms

What is it about parents particularly moms who seem to have this insatiable appetite for comparing their children to their peers. Quite frankly I find it a bit ridiculous. I really would like my daughters to be the brightest and best they can be. I have no desire to measure them against their weaker or academically stronger classmates. Perhaps I’m the laid back type who annoys other parents terribly. I always tell my girls that their best is good enough but mediocrity is unacceptable. At their age though I define what is acceptable. That’s ironic!

Perhaps I missed the child comparison memo. Children are an amazing gift who need to be nurtured and that is all that is required. I just wish that in their enthusiasm to nurture mighty oaks and not carefully cultivated bonsai trees they’d show some consideration.

Happy parenting!

Leave a Reply

