Life, Love, and Passports

The joy of reading

It’s funny how you forget the early days of learning a skill. A bit like being annoyed with a learner driver because the truth is no matter how good you may be now you had to have learnt at some stage.
I’ve had to brush away the cobwebs of my memory in an attempt to remember the days when my grade one teacher Miss Redman taught me how to read Jack and Jill book one. Truth is I can’t imagine a time I needed to be taught to read. Alas that cannot be true because I was definitely not self-taught.

Once again I’m at a stage in my life when the importance of teachers is being highlighted. While parents do have quite a bit of homework to do you just can’t ignore the amount of work done in the classroom.
Gemma my four-year old is learning to read and the truth is that I just can’t wait for the fluency to kick in. Every time she gets her reading register out I just cringe when I think of every letter in every word being spelt out like only a early learner can do.
On the positive side though I know this phase won’t last forever and soon enough she’ll be like her older sister reading everything from my texts to my emails.

Reading can transport you to amazing places where you meet interesting characters between the covers of a book. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

