Life, Love, and Passports

Lending a helping hand

Today I was stopped by a charity worker and while I do feel that they do some amazing work I’m not really a fan of being accosted in the street. Surely there must be a better way to create awareness about the various charities. Perhaps if each family decided on a charity to support that could take care of a bit of the financial need.

Well after the guy has stopped me and told me he won’t be a minute at which point I glance at my watch and sure as apples fall from trees he takes a good five minutes to explain what it is they do. All the time I’m smiling politely and being very agreeable needless to say I had no intention of signing up with my banking details to some stranger.

After I walked away I did feel quite bad for not just saying I wasn’t interested from the start but then again there are countless times I do and then still feel bad for not just giving up a bit of my time!
As a volunteer I know how important people’s donations are and constant reminders are essential to the work we do. I just feel that there are better ways to spread awareness. The bottom line is we can all make a difference in one way or another!

Leave a Reply

