Life, Love, and Passports

Market day

Today I visited the well-known Birmingham markets on a kind of excursion and fact-finding mission with my local playgroup. The problem I have with these market set ups is the total lack of variety. If you’ve seen one stall you’ve seen them all. Having a butchery and fish monger in the indoor market is a really bad idea. Needless to say I was really happy to leave that indoor market but not before I bought two reels of cotton otherwise known as thread in this part of the world!

Off to the fruit and vegetable market we strolled with our parade of pushchairs. I must admit I enjoyed the hustle and bustle of the traders trying to convince the market goers to buy their sometimes not so fresh produce. I bought a beautiful pineapple and have decided that I will prepare it the way they do at a market I frequented in South Africa.

All in all it was a good experience but not one I’ll repeat any time soon.

Leave a Reply

