Life, Love, and Passports

Let me entertain you

It has been almost six months since my daughter started playing the violin. I must admit that I was skeptical at first because I’d only ever heard horror stories about violin beginners. I went along to the parents information session at which we were informed that a family member would be expected to attend each lesson. At that point I had serious doubts about the journey with the violin.

So I’m happy to report that we have attended all her group lessons and the transformation has been amazing. The suzuki method has been an absolute revelation. Of course listening to the cd daily sometimes pushes me to certain insanity but I survive! She performs in her first recital a week from today. I have no doubt she will be phenomenal.

“Teaching music is not my main purpose. I want to make good citizens. If a child hears fine music from the day of his birth and learns to play it himself, he develops sensitivity, discipline and endurance. He gets a beautiful heart.”  Shin’ichi Suzuki

2 responses

  1. I love this blog…. dfinitely one of my favourites

    March 26, 2012 at 9:54 am

    • I’m so proud of her after a very rocky start she is flying now! Seeing her so motivated is very reassuring.

      March 26, 2012 at 10:01 am

Leave a Reply

