Life, Love, and Passports

These are a few of my favourite things

I spent a good part of my morning working on a rather thought-provoking article. Honestly I’m not a serious person (some may disagree) so I found the article rather draining. After all blogging should be relaxing (I think!) It’s way past midday and seeing as it is actually lunch time (or dinner time here in good ol England) my girls who are on their Easter break may just get to have a piece of chocolate cake or even a chocolate egg as their meal  just because I can and they will love it.

While I’m in this sharing mood perhaps I’ll let you in on some of my life secrets that make my existence great. I love coffee – good coffee though. None of this hyper diluted stuff (aka Frisco in South Africa) or caffeine free (why bother I say). I was never really a real coffee drinker until I started dating my husband (well we actually started dating as singles!) So I’ve been drinking poison (that’s what my dad calls good coffee) for a rather long time now. Seriously thinking of getting a job at Starbucks just to sniff the air.

Now there are a few random things that make my life wonderful. You know when you get a prescription from your doctor and they tell you it’s okay to ask  the pharmacist for a generic or more accurately a cheaper version. That’s about as far as I’m willing to go with substitutes. If I’ve consumed versions of something I’ve definitely been a victim of scandalous trickery. As a meat eater I will not eat soya I absolutely refuse to. I’m really glad that I have that choice

I did mention it was a rambling post. Just to mention a few more of my preferences (which of course are not life threatening issues) though I’ll be hasty to say I would definitely refuse a blood transfusion. Note to self : Get a living will!

My got to haves:

1.  A decent toothbrush – oral b medium

2. Full cream/fat milk – no watered down versions

3. Fully leaded fizzy drinks – no lite option

4. A physical book because cuddling with anything other than bound  up paper is wrong.

5. Fresh sushi because in my opinion there is no such thing as fresh frozen sushi…argh.

Okay I’m done. I can’t wait to hear what bothers you that is not life threatening but enhancing. Have a picky afternoon because you can.

6 responses

  1. odile mckenzie

    Sushi -yuk (have tried not a convert)……. coffee YIPPEE. Kindle has won me over!!!!!! But a new book Ahhhhhhh there is nothing like it. MWAH loved reading this post

    April 4, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • I’m so sad to hear about the sushi! Glad you enjoyed the post.

      April 6, 2012 at 6:28 pm

  2. Hi Claudette
    Just like you I’m currently in London (or UK), and when I come here, there is nothing more enjoyable than sitting in my fave cafe, sipping a medium latte or a cappucino, and making sure my seat is near the window so that I gaze at the world walking by. It helps if the cafe is within a bookshop. In fact just yesterday I purchased a book (Tiny Sunbirds Faraway by Christie Watson) and they had a special offer: with every purchase, 10% off a coffee and a sandwich from the coffee shop next door. So I got my latte and had it with a tuna melt. It was a good afternoon.

    April 4, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    • This sounds like my perfect morning. Good coffee and people gazing. I miss Borders with their starbucks.

      April 6, 2012 at 6:35 pm

  3. I know what you mean. The bookshop I went to was Waterstones and the coffee shop – coffee republic. I was in Oxford yesterday and came across another coffee republic. This time I went for another one of their melts.

    April 7, 2012 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

