Life, Love, and Passports

Friggatrikaidekaphobia and Triskaidekaphobia

Yes you guessed…its Friday the thirteenth! Let me just point out that I am not a superstitious person I don’t believe in luck but I do believe in opportunity. After doing a bit of research I must admit that I’m quite fascinated by the history of this special day. Seems thirteen became known as unlucky because it just didn’t fit in with the completeness of twelve. Months of the year, tribes of Israel and the disciples of Jesus. Of course modern-day society has taken it a step too far as we tend to do. People not going to work and some not even venturing out of bed. Psychologists are weighing in on the trend calling it a real phobia!

Every day that I wake up and find that I’m alive and well is a very good day. Life is too short not to want to live in house number thirteen and of course the hospitals around this part of the world have taken it a step further by not having bed thirteen on the wards. In my opinion these superstitions shorten your life by worrying over things and situations that we ultimately have no control over. Everyday is a gift so go out and enjoy your present!

2 responses

  1. ha ha! crazy stuff. i must say that i might be the least superstitious person around because up until i read your blog, i didnt even realise it was Friday 13th.

    April 13, 2012 at 11:10 am

    • Seems people take this kind of thing quite seriously!
      My motto: If you love life…live it!

      April 13, 2012 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

