Life, Love, and Passports

Mummy can you hold me?

These were the sweet little whispers that I was woken to this morning. There is so much to be learnt from children. Sadly as they grow up they are taught to read between the lines and from my experience there is often much more between those lines than you can ever imagine. We teach them about suggestion with the hope that they’ll actually get what they want. So today I had a three-year old who wanted her mummy to hold her, she asked for it, got it and we were both happy.

My husband and I were married just two months when my birthday arrived. Wanting to please me and get it right he asked me what I wanted. To this day I can’t believe I said I wanted nothing. My special day arrived and yes you guessed it he got me sweet nothing! I was livid and he was calm because it was simple to him I got what I asked for! Needless to say these days I give an extensive list and the surprise is the one he eventually chooses. It’s a win – win situation.

Some days I wonder if life is as complicated as we make it out to be. Perhaps it is we who create unnecessary drama and resulting unhappiness. Though we have many choices and the chance to make our feelings, fears and requests known the other side of those choices is somebody who needs to be taken into consideration. This is my dilemma with life the truth is you can’t just do and say what you want because it’s a terrible thing to be found on the other side of somebody’s truth and opinion.

Everything is permissible but not everything is beneficial. The art is to find the balance and this requires wisdom which is not very common in society today – you just have to trawl social networks to see the evidence.
What is it that you need today? Will you be brave enough to ask for it?

Leave a Reply

