Life, Love, and Passports

Ordinary people

I’ll be the first to admit that I can be a really good friend, well, that’s what I think anyway. When I come across people who I could possibly form a lasting friendship with, I must admit it really throws me off-balance when I realise all the planting and watering will come from my side. To me friends are not people who hang about waiting for harvest time.

Now if you honestly think about your friends you will see exactly what I mean. There are those who run a mile when you’re facing difficulties and then can’t get any closer when the days are good. On the other hand there are those who really do stick with you through thick and thin. Sadly the way our lives are structured these days many of us have wonderful friends spread across the world. I have forged some wonderful friendships since arriving in the UK.

Then there’s the friend who just smothers you with kindness and/or complaints. You know the type when you get a text you just grind your teeth. You hide from them in the supermarkets collapsing displays in an attempt to get as far away as possible. When you’re a kind-hearted long-suffering person who has such friends you don’t have the heart to say ” I know we’re just friends and I wish we were so much less” The key to these friendships is small doses. Just enough not to make you sick.

I have been thinking about friendship quite a bit the last few days. Family is important to me but friends are equally important, after all you need somebody to complain about your family to! This post goes out to all the amazing people whose paths I’ve crossed and have taught me so many lessons about myself. Thank you for allowing me to be myself. To those who’ve just ground their teeth on seeing this post…oops!

One response

  1. Pingback: Friendship Explored « Exploratory Introspections

Leave a Reply

