Life, Love, and Passports

Unbridled hope for the future

I’ve recently watched a documentary of a group of children whose lives have been documented from the age of 7 at seven-year intervals they are now 56 years old. The series was originally intended to show how socio-economic conditions determine a child’s future. They were so wrong! As it turns out good and bad choices determine your future.

It was so amazing to see the enthusiasm and hope of each of those children when interviewed initially but sadly the flame of hope seemed to be fading as the reality of life set in. It became really hard for many to keep their eyes on the prize. Some did achieve their childhood goals and others were forced to redefine what success meant to them. I must admit that I was slightly jealous that my thoughts and ambitions weren’t recorded because I’d love to know what was ideas were cooking in my little brain at a really tender age.

I have no plans to subject my daughters to a documentary series on such a grand scale. However, I do have every intention of letting them know that the sky is the limit and only they have the power to decide their future. The future is super bright for them and I will make every effort to keep their dreams alive!

4 responses

  1. I wish I were back in London to watch this. When I was studying for my O levels back in the early 80s, the sociology lecturer made us watch the very first of this series and found it to be riveting. Ever since then, every seven years, when they show the next 7Up, I am simply hooked, and so is the whole country. It just made me to understand (along with studying sociology) how Britain is so regimented in terms of class and whether we like it or not, your ‘station’ at birth determines where your station is likely to be for the rest of your lives. One thing did stand out a lot whilst watching these programmes (this point excludes the upper class of course) and that is education can really help you climb a few notches. For my kids, the sky is also the limit but education will enable them to climb to the top of that ladder to be able to touch the sky.

    May 31, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    • So true! We have to be the ones who remind our kids the future is in their hands and remind them that negative people will always be around to convince you that dreams are just dreams!
      If they can dream it they can achieve it!
      Thanks for your feedback! Hope you’re well.

      June 2, 2012 at 12:46 pm

  2. I’m well thanks. Hope your long weekend goes well – without too much rain. Take Care!

    June 3, 2012 at 12:11 am

    • Sadly the rain just keeps bucketing
      down. So British!

      June 3, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Leave a Reply

