Life, Love, and Passports

The day that Herman died

Two days ago I was introduced to a cake mix called Herman. I must admit seeing him looking not so well and being told I was responsible for his survival has proven to be far more than I could handle. It saddens me to report that Herman my German friendship cake has seen his demise while in my care. I can’t actually claim to have cared for him because I totally forgot about him on day one.

This is how it should have played out. You get given a portion by a friend then you look after the sour dough cake mix for ten days and share it with three other friends. I am now secretly hoping that this failure is not an indication of the type of friend I am. I totally failed to understand the process, did not seek help at the appropriate time and failed to nurture until its completion. Oh no! This is a total disaster if it is in fact a friendship analysis task.

I took Herman from day 2 to day 10 in a day and was forced to bake it without sharing with my friends and giving them an opportunity to show what awesome people they are. Fortunately for me my good friend Heather brought a completed piece of delicious friendship cake for me. My friendship cake has been taken out of the oven and it is vile. I feel seriously defeated by a cake which will be enjoyed by the ducks and I seriously hope they don’t taste that it is the result of my  poor friendship skills.

I thought I’d give some of you a chance to show your amazing skills by posting a copy of the recipe. I have not included pictures of my dearly departed Herman because I refuse to put my criminal evidence on display!

Herman The German Friendship Cake

Hello, my name is Herman. I am a sourdough cake. I’m supposed to sit on your worktop for  10 days without a lid on.  You CANNOT put me in the fridge or I will die. If I stop bubbling, I am dead.

Day 1: Put me in a large mixing bowl and cover loosely with a tea towel.
Day 2: Stir well
Day 3: Stir well
Day 4: Herman is hungry. Add 1 cup each of plain flour, sugar and milk. Stir well.
Day 5: Stir well
Day 6: Stir well
Day 7: Stir well
Day 8: Stir well
Day 9: Add the same as day 4 and stir well. Divide into 4 equal portions and give away to
friends with a copy of these instructions. Keep the fourth portion.
Day 10: Now you are ready to make the cake. Stir well and add the following:

 1 cup of sugar(8oz or 225g)
 2 cups plain flour (10oz or 300g)
 half tsp. (teaspoon) salt
 2/3 (two thirds) cup of cooking oil (5.3oz or 160ml)
 2 eggs
 2 tsp. vanilla essence
 2 cooking apples cut into chunks
 1 cup raisins (7oz or 200g)
 2 heaped tsp. cinnamon
 2 heaped tsp. baking powder
Optional:
 ¼ cup brown sugar
 ¼ cup melted butter

Mix everything together and put into a large greased baking tin. Sprinkle with a quarter of a cup of brown sugar and a quarter of a cup of melted butter. Bake for 45 minutes at 170‐
180C. Test the middle with a clean knife; you may need to cover in tin foil and bake for a
further 20 minutes to make sure your Herman is cooked properly in the middle.
When baked, Herman can be frozen.

Leave a Reply

