Life, Love, and Passports

Opportunity or overload?

Today my girls had their first lesson in African drumming and I must admit their enthusiasm or rather a lack of it was slightly disappointing. Gemma did ask if she could change her mind and my response was a bit threatening I might say. I gave her a mini talk about taking every opportunity she can and how she should be grateful for the opportunity to try new things. I felt pretty rotten as the day went by and have decided to give her the choice of dropping out. After all fun shouldn’t be stressful!

As parents we have officially entered the phase in our girls lives where we get to decide certain things for them. The difficulty now is deciding what is necessary for their personal growth and just how far to push them. The violin has become a bit of a sore point at the moment. It started off with lots of enthusiasm and no skill. Then some skill and a lack of practice. We thought we’d reached the plain sailing part with daily practices and the mastering of pieces. Sadly the last two weeks have been filled with tears, tantrums and threats. My husband and I have decided that there will be no bail out on this one. This is the activity that will eventually teach my dear little six-year-old the importance of perseverance and never giving up even when things get tough.

I’ve been looking at all the activities available for our girls I’ve had to be sober about getting them involved in every activity available. After all I can’t expect them to do the activities they are interested in and the ones I wish I’d had the opportunity to participate in.
Here’s to their future let’s see how it all plays out!

2 responses

  1. Parenting is so difficult these days. Back in the day, you would not dare queston your parents re learning the musical instruments or taking up an instrument and so forth, and most times I hated it but now, so many years later, I am grateful to my parents for keeping on at me. With my own however, and I think generally with the younger generation, when they say they don’t like or they don’t want, you have to listen. None of that ‘discipline’ cannot be imposed on them! But I’ve noticed with my daughter she has somehow, all by herself, figured out what she is interested in (and this is after the subtle nagging from me, wanting to do certain things). So now, if it’s not jazz ballet then it’s ice skating, if it’s not piano then it’s singing etc. The deal is that she can continue with her interests provided that she sits the exams. She’s agreed to it so let’s see what happens.

    June 21, 2012 at 12:43 am

    • It is in their best interest to learn how to persevere and be diligent. Sticking it out is part of life I guess for me it’s just about finding the balance!

      June 22, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

