Life, Love, and Passports

Let the games begin

So the long awaited Olympic opening ceremony took place in London last night and the eyes of the world were watching. I couldn’t help but feel terribly disappointed with the whole event. While it has received much praise from the British public I kept thinking ‘does the world get this?’. While it is meant to chronicle the history of Great Britain and its wonderful heritage I certainly felt it came up short! If I hadn’t been living in Britain the entire ceremony would’ve been lost on me except for the odd appearance of Mr. Bean and the world famous James Bond. I think Danny Boyle missed a trick by putting on a show that was far too quintessentially British.

Admittedly not everything was that bad and I guess the organisers should be applauded for including people from various walks of life. My highlights were the lighting of the cauldron and its amazing formation along with the fireworks display. I’m still wondering why David Beckham had to be on that speed boat delivering the torch I don’t think it added much more to an already traditional moment. Good on Sebastian Coe though for keeping his promise of making the games about the younger generation but why didn’t he insist that it continued with the musicians because it was obvious that Paul McCartney was longing for his bed with nothing short of a karaoke performance.

Though the games kicked off a few days ago with football and rowing the real deal starts today with one of my favourite events swimming. After watching the nations parade during the ceremony and seeing the athletes filled with hope and expectation I can’t wait to watch one of the greatest sporting events in the world.

2 responses

  1. I’m not even sure that it was ‘quintessentially’ British but more ‘quintessentially’ English. According to my Scottish friend, she was annoyed that the ‘history’ presented just seemed to focus more on England. Just surfing through the papers some critics felt it was too left-wing, other’s felt it was ‘multicultural’. For myself, I guess it was ‘different’. I’m not sure whether I liked it except for the Germanic looking cauldron – the long awaited surprise that came at the end. Anyway, let’s hope the event continues without any controversy.

    July 29, 2012 at 7:35 am

    • Thanks for the comment. Always look forward to your feedback.
      Well the games are forging ahead and everyday seems to bring some kind of drama from empty seats, complaints about commentators, down graded medals, China’s super swimmer and the list goes on!
      Hope you’re well!

      July 31, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

