Life, Love, and Passports

Going for gold

So last night we decided to go to a public screening of the swimming. I must admit I was seriously amped to witness another potential gold medal for South Africa so I shouted for Chad and clapped all the way through and had to kind of mute my enthusiasm when I suddenly felt all eyes on me. Hello gold medal number two.

Bert le Clos has become a bit of a hero himself after his son Chad le Clos had beaten the American favourite Phelps in the 200m butterfly. His post swim interview has been dubbed as the best Olympic moment so far. I watched the interview this morning and that dad was filled with pride and unbridled emotion. He and his son brought a certain amount of realness to the Olympics no scripted, fake responses just joy and adulation.

Today is a new day at the Olympics and there will be joy, disappointment and a range of emotions but daddy le Clos will be the beaming one bursting with pride as it should be. I couldn’t be happier!

Leave a Reply

