Life, Love, and Passports

Blow out your candles

So this weekend that one special day that you’re guaranteed from the day of your birth arrived…my birthday! I never really know what to expect from my birthday with each year but this year I’ve seen the most excitement in the run up than I can remember for a long time. I attribute this to my three offspring who for the first time have all become aware that birthdays mean presents and all round good times.

Being a mother means that my celebration is largely planned around the needs of my young kids. So a trip to the park with friends of ours and an afternoon at the fun fair was just the perfect day for them which prompted me to ask if they were enjoying my party. The look on their faces was priceless when they suddenly realised they were the only ones enjoying the rides. Needless to say their guilt lasted less than a minute.

I often wonder what other grown ups do on their special day. Is there an unwritten law that requires you to go out and party or do people largely go about their daily routine? I suspect it’s the latter. After seeing the joy my special day provided for those close to me I think I might make an effort for the next one. I have a whole year to plan so no excuses from me.

If it’s your special day enjoy it. Crown yourself king or queen for the day because it is your very special day!

20120820-154306.jpg

Leave a Reply

