Life, Love, and Passports

It’s not a game anymore

Today was one of those days that called on my husband and I to present a united front when dealing with my seven-year old. I’ve come to realise that parenting is a multifaceted occupation. Some days I feel like I’ve got a split personality. The challenges come thick and fast and then there are periods of smooth sailing when everyone seems to know what’s required of them.

My daughter has been playing the violin for little over a year now and we still have to deal with these intermittent outbursts when she doesn’t want to practice. She recently joined a junior orchestra and things have stepped up a gear. She is more than happy to attend her lessons but is not in favour of practicing at home. I’m looking forward to the day when I’ll tell her that she has put in more than enough time. Truth is that’s a long way off and for now we just have to encourage and occasionally threaten her. Whatever gets results!

The road ahead is long and we’ve agreed that she won’t be allowed to throw in the towel because quitting is for quitters. I must admit at the height of her music tantrums I want to throw the towel in for her. Here’s hoping that she’ll thank us one day for teaching her the useful art of hanging in even when things aren’t going your way.

6 responses

  1. My eldest was exactly the same when he started playing the guitar – now it’s the “in” thing to do at school and he’s loving the fact that he’s so much better than his other friends there! I hope getting her to practise gets easier! Xx

    October 21, 2012 at 2:28 am

    • Thanks for your comment.
      It’s really a challenge at the moment.

      I enjoy reading your blog very educational!

      October 23, 2012 at 12:30 pm

  2. Probably when she reaches the point of having done enough practice, you will probably have to beg her to stop sometimes! 😉

    October 23, 2012 at 11:26 am

    • Thanks for the comment.
      Sadly we are a long way off…for now.

      Your blog is so inspiring!

      October 23, 2012 at 12:25 pm

  3. Good luck. I have two of my granddaughters I’m coaching (violin and piano) and it takes patience. Children who quit learning music grow up to be adults who regret they quit learning music.

    November 1, 2012 at 7:14 am

    • Thanks! Sometimes giving up seems like such a good option. She has had quite a radical change of attitude and for the past week she’s been determined to perfect Minuet 1!

      November 1, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Leave a Reply

