Life, Love, and Passports

Heroes and villains

This year marked the 50th anniversary of the amazing spy that is James Bond. I cannot say that I’ve watched them all but I’ve certainly seen enough to know how Mr. Bond operates. Fast girls, beautiful cars, amazing gadgets, the iconic theme song and his martini which is shaken and not stirred of course!

Yesterday saw the latest Bond adventure Skyfall unveiled at the movies (my South African friends have a bit of a wait though!). I wasn’t one of the masses who flocked to see it on opening day but I was interested to hear the general consensus even though I’ll still make up my mind after I eventually get to watch the world-famous spy 007 achieve the impossible in the least amount of time. What a hero!

The first article I read was a complaint made about product placement. It seems James no longer drinks martini and has become a lager man. Really? People actually took the time to complain and that I find admirable because I’m not sure that I would’ve noticed. Honestly speaking Daniel Craig just looks like more of a lager man than say perhaps Sean Connery.

Come on ‘Bondsters’ surely some things are going to change after 50 years. Bond movies have evolved since telegrams and other now prehistoric gadgets. Who knows our next Bond may like his water bottled not poured. I’ve no doubt that this film will be true to the basic plot and in the end Bond triumphs as he always does.

Personally I cannot wait to see the sequence to this instalment of the theme song because that is my Bond highlight. Adele has not disappointed and the song reminds me of Dame Shirley Bassey’s rendition of Diamonds are forever. Spectacular!

Leave a Reply

