Life, Love, and Passports

Flying without wings

In less than a month I’ll be taking a trip back to South Africa and I’ll be travelling alone with my three daughters. This is certainly not my first trip alone with the girls and it certainly won’t be the last. Thankfully they are not as little as they used to be. Having travelled alone with three children under the age of five makes me feel much better prepared this time around.
While my girls are generally well-behaved and I use the term ‘well behaved’ rather broadly. The fact of the matter is there is no way of knowing exactly how children will react when placed on an aircraft and are forced to stay in their seats for most of a long haul flight. This experience is enough to drive a responsible adult crazy!

If you’ve ever travelled with really young child or children you’ll be well aware of the reactions of fellow passengers. You know the moment you step on the aircraft and everybody appears to be saying a prayer. Praying that you don’t sit anywhere near them and if you do happen to sit near them they pray your kids sleep the entire journey. Have I got news for you, you are not the only one hoping they sleep through mealtime, duty-free sales, turbulence and the constant traffic to the bathroom.

I guess all I’m hoping for when I get on a flight is the same kind of consideration every other passenger expects and a pleasant flight no matter how near or far!

Leave a Reply

