Life, Love, and Passports

Lunch hour oddities

While out and about at the mall today my husband and I stopped for some coffee (decaf of course!) and a sandwich. The coffee shop was really busy and people were practically scrambling for chairs or just watching others with hawk eyes in anticipation of inheriting their table.

Fortunately I was one of the lucky ones who just stumbled upon a nice clean table for four! That right there was the problem because I barely got comfortable and this elderly gentleman approached me to ask if the seat was taken. I looked around at the three empty seats and answered really slowly and he sat down right next to me after a rather delayed NO!

What happened next really should’ve been captured on camera. My husband who was at the counter turned around to see me sitting shoulder to shoulder with a complete stranger and his facial expressions had me laughing hysterically. At that moment another table became available and he was a few nods short of nodding his head off in an attempt to get me to move.

Finally we had our own little place where we could share our plans and strategise for the rest of the day. I can’t help but feel that we may have missed an opportunity to make some new friends.

Leave a Reply

