Life, Love, and Passports

Fruit of your lips

A few days ago I bumped into an acquaintance and we had the briefest of chats but as I walked away I couldn’t help thinking if people think it’s okay to just utter every thought that crosses their mind. I’ll be the first to admit that I sometimes walk away from conversations wishing that I’d not said so much. I can’t help but feel we now live in an era where people truly believe that their poorly thought out opinions actually matter.

Recently I’ve been trying the count to ten theory which shouldn’t just be used in moments of anger. A while back I read that you only get one chance to have a first reaction not just a first impression and that is quite true. So, I’ve been spending quite a few moments thinking before responding in such a way that I can live with it.

I guess the point I’m trying to make is the same way we expect people to be gracious towards us they expect the same. Thoughtless utterances can hurt people deeply and nobody enjoys being hurt.

I like to imagine that my mouth is a tree and my words are fruit. Bottom line is nobody likes bad fruit!

Leave a Reply

