Life, Love, and Passports

To yourself be true

I’ve just watched a seriously disturbing documentary about people who fake who they are on social networking sites. I started out watching Catfish being filled with hope with the possibility of young love blossoming and as the story unfolded I found myself wanting retribution for the wrongdoers. I don’t want to give too much away but in the end I found myself shedding a tear for all the lonely people who feel unloved and are looking for acceptance and think the only way to be accepted is to fabricate the ins and outs of their lives.

As we go along lives path we meet many types of people but the one thing we all have in common is our deep need to be loved and accepted. Social networks have become a place where people put themselves on display and I’ve learnt to take many things with a pinch of salt. Popularity is now defined by the number of contacts and friends you have and strangely enough people are still lonely.

While I do enjoy using social networks I cannot let them define me. The idea of these networks is to make them a part of your life not your life. If there was one thing I could change about social networking is this billboard mentality people have when it comes to their personal lives. There’s a time and place for everything and social spaces are not the arena to showcase ones issues.

I enjoy sharing aspects of my life but I’ve decided where to draw my line in the sand. I don’t consider myself secretive but rather cautious because once your business is out there it is officially everybody’s business. Such a fine balance to expect no lies and still monitor truth!

Leave a Reply

