Life, Love, and Passports

Mommy milestones

There is much said about childhood milestones from introduction of solids, sitting, crawling, standing, walking and of course the sighting of the first tooth. The joy of parents as each goal is reached and of the course the exaggeration and rigging of onset of milestones is never too far away. Truth is we all encounter these types of parents as we raise our toddlers and some of us may be guilty of this gross exaggeration as well.

Truth is every time a toddler reaches a milestone we lose more control and they edge ever closer to independence. Watching them needing less of you can be quite daunting. It’s weird when you think that you spend most of their first year just waiting for your baby to do the next big thing. Reality of life is that there is only one chance for a first after that its just as regular as clockwork. I do miss having a baby to take care of and seize every opportunity to hold other people’s babies until they start squirming and crying then I’m reminded that with my children’s independence comes my freedom!

This week I reached another mommy milestone. After coming to the shocking realisation that my girls will never need a pushchair or camp cot ever again I still found it really hard to part with the items. I’d been driving around with these articles in my car which were of no use to me but could make a huge difference to somebody else. I’m no hoarder and lack any sense of sentimentality so I found it very weird that I had to let go emotionally before I could let go physically. Finally I did the drop off and felt at peace as I walked into a new phase of my life.

Wherever you are in the parenting spectrum try to enjoy it because it’s a fact that nothing lasts forever. Say goodbye to each experience as it ends and prepare to embrace the next.
Happy parenting!

2 responses

  1. I have closets full of baby clothes that have been outgrown and toys that are no longer played with, but I haven’t been able to get rid of them yet. I’ll try to take your advice and embrace the end of one chapter.

    (Now if my little guy’s night waking could be put into a box and tossed to the curb, I would gladly do that one!)

    February 11, 2013 at 2:54 am

    • Thanks for visiting my blog! I didn’t have a problem giving the clothes away, I try to get my girls to give toys away but I do find it really hard to part with their reading books.
      When the time is right for you I’m sure you’ll be more than happy to let go!

      As for your little guy I hope he gets the memo soon…sleeping is fun😃

      February 11, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Leave a Reply

