Life, Love, and Passports

The butcher, the baker, the candlestick maker!

So after much thought maybe way too much I eventually decided to buy a meat cleaver. I spent a very long time deciding if it would be safe in my kitchen. I kept telling myself how much I really needed it and the truth is I really did need it. After convincing myself that I’m only as good as my tools I took the plunge and bought it. After all if I see myself as chef material the least I can do is get a decent cleaver not just pretty aprons.

The cleaver is now a member of the cutlery staff but I have to admit it gets special treatment. No laying about in the kitchen oh no this piece of fierceness has a special place it goes to when not being used. At the moment I’m in a complicated relationship with the cleaver because while it’s really good at what it does I am afraid of its power. I fear that my cleaver has an appetite for fingers…my fingers. Nothing untoward has happened but I’m almost paralysed with fear when it’s in my hand. I find myself whispering that I can’t be too careful with this beast.

Like all new relationships I guess it will take some time to get to know each other. Learning our strengths and weaknesses to bring out the best in each of us. I now look forward to the day when our relationship will not be based on fear. I just hope my cleaver knows it cannot lord its power over me forever. Cheers to teamwork!

Leave a Reply

