Life, Love, and Passports

The friendship cycle

This week my six year old Gemma has been devastated by the news that her ‘bestie’ will be moving away. When she had a teary episode a couple of times this week well actually it was a bawling episode. All I could do was tell her was that’s the way life goes. You meet people and bond, sometimes they stay forever and sometimes they don’t. It was slightly more complicated than that and I as an adult am still learning this lesson. There have been many times when I wanted to follow and other times when I wished I could cart my friends off with me.

I realised too that the hardest thing to do is to expect my dear child to appreciate that there will be an opportunity for more good friendships. When you’re so upset and practically heartbroken it’s hard to believe that things will get better. I promised her it would get better and she should look forward to making new friends. What if they leave too? This was not the time for little white lies. There are no guarantees in life but that doesn’t mean we should stop living. Such a complicated conversation and yet it will serve her well to remember this.

Tomorrow will be the last day of school and the end of the academic year. My hope is that she’ll recover sufficiently over the summer break and be ready to form a new bond and be an amazing friend again!

Leave a Reply

