Life, Love, and Passports

‘That’ Parent

Who would’ve thought those two words could conjure up such a need to defend your actions.
I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no expert in all that needs to known. I guess that goes without saying. Like my children I learn something new almost everyday. After all that’s life isn’t it? One long learning journey.

Whilst at an activity with my girls I expressed my concern to a fellow parent about the progress of my daughter and suggested that she may be ahead of her peers and could do with more of a challenge. The words had barely left my tongue and I regretted saying them mainly because I didn’t want to be judged. Fortunately she was understanding and suggested I speak to the person in charge. I thanked her but as I walked away she said “just be careful how you word it you don’t want to be seen as ‘that’ parent”. I literally froze and wondered if it was the right move because the last thing I’d want is for my child to be a target.

On returning home I had to do some serious introspection. Was I ‘that’ parent? If by ‘that’ parent you mean the one who wants the best for her children by challenging choices and making difficult decisions which benefit my child’s progress then please stick a tag on me. Is that the impression others will have of me? I’m not sure but at this moment in time all I can do is go with my gut feeling.

I thought about the parents who I’ve labelled. Maybe like me they want the best for their children too. On the other hand I’m sure there’s a very fine line between being concerned and being a know it all. Guess it’s finding that balance and having the right attitude when you think things could be done differently…or better.

Oh the joys of parenting. The longest on the job training if ever there was one!

Leave a Reply

