Life, Love, and Passports

Blind Faith

Whilst sitting in the dentists chair a week ago I came to the realisation that I had absolutely no idea if she was qualified to do her job. I bet she is but I’ve not a shred of evidence to support that. Not even a certificate on a wall.
It seems ridiculous now that I’m sharing it but have you ever asked your dentist / doctor or any other professional about their qualifications? I can just imagine my dentist suggesting I need this, that and the other done and if all of this goes wrong…no teeth! That is a really scary thought.

I’m going to blame this slight paranoia on some of the stuff I’ve been watching on telly. Just give it a thought if you would getting on a flight or simply seeing a hair stylist. Questioning the pilot may prove to be difficult. It’s quite frightening if you give it too much thought. I’ll definitely be asking some informal questions especially if it’s a new service being undertaken.

Perhaps this information should be readily available if you feel the need to know. I obviously feel the need to know!

One response

  1. But isn’t that why Doctors, Lawyers and most professional groups in the UK have to be registered. Sure, you get the odd one that we find out where they’ve done something wrong and get struck off as a result. I’ve lived in countries where professions are not registered and therefore there are lots of malpractices and lots of reasons not to trust some of these so called professionals. So much so, I waited until I returned to London to my Doctor/Dentist etc.

    Professional bodies are reasonably ‘open’ whereby you can check on your GP. Two years ago I reported a legal firm to the Law Society for some gross misdoing. The case was ruled in my favor where the firm had to compensate me. So I’m confident and grateful that there is a net to catch any professional body if they don’t adhere to the rules. It’s too early in the day to be paranoid.

    December 11, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

